Are there legitimate scientific challenges to the Big Bang theory?

big-bang

(Reuben Wong) #1

hi all,

A friend of mine was discussing the big bang with me, and cited some articles from Creation Ministries international. It’s a video on the Big Bang, link here. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? There were other articles that discussed problems with this as well, e.g. issues with red-shift in a quasar, and no shadows casted from CMB.

Some of the articles raise some issues with the Big Bang model, but does not offer a suitable alternative explanation. As a Physicist myself, the mathematics I did seemed reasonable at the time. and So while there may be empirical data of wrong red-shifts in quasars, or even fluctuation CMBs (cosmic background radiation) temperatures, I wonder if these really mean that the theory is flawed or not.

My initial view is that, while not everything can ever be experimentally verifiable, the theory still seems reasonable to me.

Anyone has views/comments?

(Harris Ratnayake) #2

Hi Reuben:

I don’t belong to any particular interpretation of Genesis but my view is that Christians should be careful not to jump into the latest theories of cosmology as these are not proven theories. There is so much we don’t know with dark energy and dark matter taking up some 95% of the universe. So I think it is foolish for us to adhere to any theory even if it appears to show that it helps our cause - such as the BB with a singularity point of creation.

(SeanO) #3

@harrisrat My question in return would be - what role do you believe theories play in scientific discovery? I do not think we should hold to theories as we do to the Bible - as truth with a capital T - Truth.