Are you a good listener?

Hi @Interested_in_Evangelism,

In a fascinating article for Christianity Today, speaker and author Doug Pollock shares this story:

So I told him I was an author and speaker. He quickly asked me what I write about and I responded that he could actually help me with what I was writing about. Intrigued, he asked, “How can I do that?” Here was my response: “I’m on my way to speak at one of the largest churches in Colorado. If I gave you 30 minutes to tell these Christians what not to do to have a spiritual conversation with you, what would you tell them?”

Without any hesitation, he said, “I’d tell them if you are not willing to listen to me, I am not going to listen to you. Every conversation I’ve ever had with Christians has been one-sided. They always want to do all the talking and expect me to do all the listening.”

Doug also provides a helpful “quiz” to assess our listening skills:

Answer the following statements with a yes or no response. When you finish, total the number of yes responses.

When others are talking to me…

1. I find myself finishing their sentences.

2. I give my opinions before hearing them out.

3. I get restless and impatient.

4. I lose track of what is being said.

5. I mentally rehearse what I’m going to say next.

6. I take control of the conversation.

7. I interrupt with frequent comments or questions.

8. I try to diagnose and help them fix their problems.

9. I worry about what I’m going to say next.

10. I am suspiciously listening for hidden agendas.

Personally, I think Doug is onto something! From my own personal experience, I enjoy talking and having others listen. So it seems likely that other people feel the same way… :slight_smile:

At the same time, I think we all know someone who hasn’t learned the art of “conversational tennis”: first you serve, then I reply, and you hit the ball back, and on we go, in a very nice, pleasant, back-and-forth manner.