Art Career Viable?

(Dani) #1

I studied animation and illustration in university but after graduating, I’m conflicted in how (and if) I should be doing art. I will also add that I have Scrupulosity Obsessive Compulsive Disorder (OCD), so legalism is something I’m also battling.

I’m working on a kids book that is a bit of an allegory, but is this tricking kids? I feel like even if I aim for these ends of people saved, that because I am imperfect, the means to these ends are going to be flawed. I’m where I am after many a sin. Like maybe I lied sometime in life, or stole someone’s candy, which gave me an iota of energy to do [task], and yadda yadda, now I’m me, today. I know Jesus cleansed me of my sins, and I also know Romans 8:28 but I still did the sins and they didn’t not happen, you know?

My portfolio hasn’t got any direct Bible depictions, but I’m also unemployed and art jobs require you show a portfolio. Should I wait to apply and build a portfolio with Bible artwork in it? I could apply for artless jobs meanwhile.

I like to draw people at cafes, but I caricature them, and caricatures as a rule make fun of people.

I also don’t draw exactly hyper-realistic, but I am scared this is misrepresenting what God has created. Example: if I draw Clifford, I understand he’s a dog, and you understand he’s a dog, but dogs aren’t that big, or red, and they don’t actually have an outline and huge eyes with tiny black pupils. God made dogs and so shouldn’t I draw them exact? But then even 2-D art is not the actual thing and so 2-D art seems like a misrepresentation, too!

:dizzy_face:

(Andrew Bulin) #2

Hey there, @Dani!