Artful Crossdress?🎭

Hey everyone! I have a quick question:

I’m a professional actor, and I’m considering doing a one-man show in which I’ll be portraying multiple, real-life characters of varying ages, ethnicities, races, religious backgrounds and potentially, different genders. Well, the likelihood is that I’d only be portraying one woman. The piece is a historical piece – not a comedy – and it’s based on a historical event that happened in the United States back in the 90’s. Again, the people that I’d be POTENTIALLY portraying would be real people – all of whom are still alive. So, these would not be caricatures or campy satire. On the contrary, they would be portrayed in “truth” - complete with accents, prosthetics and clothing. So in lieu of Deuteronomy 22:5, would I be in violation to wear the woman’s actual clothing - complete with wig, makeup, etc - in accurate portrayal of this person within a play? Why or why not?

Thanks, in advance!

4 Likes

Warner,

That sounds so interesting! I’d love to see your show! As to your question, I believe in the light of Christ’s teaching we are too look to a higher plane of the law and that is the spirit. God does not want men or women to basically be cross-dressers who desire to live out the role of a different gender. The abomination is wanting to be something God did not intend you to be.

When Jesus says: “"You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall not commit adultery.’ But I say to you that everyone who looks at a woman with lustful intent has already committed adultery with her in his heart” (Matthew‬ ‭5:27-28), He is explaining that our very intentions are what condemn us. Now in this scripture the act as well as the thought