Believing a Lie

(Robert Fields) #1

I have asked God this question recently and I’m curious if others have wrestled with this as well.

Does God allow us to believe a lie, even if its for a short time before finding the truth?
The assumption is that we have a heart for the Truth, found only in Jesus.

I am a pastor who depends on God’s mercy and grace, along with diligent study, to make sure I’m not teaching anything false or believing anything that is not true. Would God allow me, as His shepherd, to believe a lie and possibly teach that lie to my congregation?

It can be a scary thing to contemplate.

Thanks,
God Bless!

Robert

(Joseph Kamau Njoroge) #2

God will allow you to believe in a lie if you delight in wickedness…

God will not second you into preaching a lie,but He is unlikely to stop you if you choose to.
God delights in truth… Psalms 51:6 ,He will not go against His nature.

You need not worry ,All you need is to depend on the Holy Spirit
John 16: 13 However, when the Spirit of truth comes, He will guide you into all truth. For He will not speak on His own, but He will speak what He hears, and He will declare to you what is to come.

Kindly note the words ALL TRUTH.

The Holy Spirit is our helper,and we should seek His help all the time.

(Keldon Scott) #3

Consider the statement: once I become a Christian I know all the truth. That can’t possibly be. Nor is it necessarily the case that I ever know all the truth. Consequently I believe that God allows us to let it be a journey and he reveals to us those truths at come at key points in our lives. It is a tad scary especially if you are preaching. But, I got to believe that there are so many scriptures that lend new truth or we find truth in the manner in which we live that have been revealed in their own time. Love the John 16:13 reference as a scriptural response, but also Philippians 4:6.

(Keldon Scott) #4