Believing the WHOLE Bible

Here’s a personal question: I’m new to studying the Bible. I never really knew what was in it for the longest of time. Well, as I read and listen and learn more, I find that there are certain things in the Bible that I can easily accept while others, I just think to myself “Yeah, I’m not convinced”. I want to be convinced, but there are just some things that I doubt way more than I believe. So my question is, is this normal? Is it alright to take time to accept all aspects of the Bible? Right now my belief in the Bible is kind of choppy, and I’m hoping that eventually it will become continuous. But it’s just not easy for me. Thanks for any and all advice

6 Likes

@DeAnna_Collins
I can’t speak for others, but I think this is completely normal!

I think when we approach studying the Bible we have to be mindful of the delicate balance between understanding the text with an appropriate historical/cultural perspective and the authority it carries as God’s word. I think there are some principles that are easy to accept like you said but I also think there are some principles that are easy to misunderstand which most of the time in my experience leads to doubting the validity of the Bible.

A perfect example of this is the text regarding women in 1 Timothy (this is one that I struggle with!) My initial reaction to this text is exactly what you said… “I’m not convinced”. But instead of questioning the validity of the text, I question my own understanding of what I’ve read. I pray asking God to show me what he wants to teach me through the passage, what the text means, and what his heart is behind the text.

Something else I try to be mindful of when I’m reading passages that are difficult to understand and accept is what I want the passage to mean. My own wishes of what I hope the text means has definitely interfered with understanding what it’s really saying.