Biblical View of Self-Improvement/Personal Development

Does anyone know of any great thinkers, teachers, or resources out there who talk about the place of self-improvement/personal development in the life of a believer, particularly in “non-spiritual” areas? Through my career as a music teacher, I have learned a lot from authors such as Daniel Coyle, Carol Dweck, Anders Ericcson, and others who have been studying the science of expertise. The more I learn, the more I desire to help others learn what science has shown to help us learn and improve ourselves. However, I find there are aspects of this kind of study that conflict with my Christian worldview.

First, the prize that many teachers in this field offer is happiness. They claim that if you learn to overcome your obstacles and obtain your goals in life, you will be happier. Of course, I believe that true happiness (joy) can only be found in Christ.

Second, the pursuit of excellent in any field requires an incredible amount of time and dedication. How does a Christian spend this amount of time on “non-spiritual” activities and keep their affections above rather than on the earth (Col 3:1).

Third, how does the Holy Spirit come into play in this process? Clearly, secular sources do not include supernatural help in meeting your goals. It is all achieved by methods you are able to do in the flesh, but can a Christian approach to self-improvement be solely based on methods that do not acknowledge the working of the Holy Spirit?

I would love to know if anyone is asking or trying to answer these kinds of questions. I hope these questions make sense. I am still turning this all over in my mind.

4 Likes

@vandzulis I am about to state my firm personal opinion about this matter. It is just an opinion; others will disagree, and that is fine with me.