Christian Response as we reopen the state

I am from Boston, a OR registered nurse by profession. I have seen and worked with the CoVID patients for the last 2 months since I got deployed from the OR. As a Christian how are we going to respond to the reopening of the states? I know a lot of people lost their jobs , unable to pay their dues and it’s a really tough times for a lot of people from the middle class to the poor most especially.Are most of us are just trying to prove we have freedom and we need to exercise it ? Is it a selfish act to reopen other establishments to public that could be a big cause of flocking of people that will result to another wave or should we strategize and think twice before reopening ? As a Christian where do we stand?

2 Likes

Good question Maria. I don’t know whether there is a Christian response to this question anymore than whether there is a Christian response to how much money the government needs to spend on various projects. It is in my mind always a balance between competing issues. We have to take the necessary precautions to keep people safe and on the other hand we have to allow people to get back to work to maintain their livelihoods. Our leaders need to take all the competing data into account and take appropriate action. So far I am generally in agreement with what they are doing namely opening up gradually asking everyone to practice the wearing of masks (which I think can be done universally) and maintain physical distance as appropriate. One thing we don’t want to do is to get to a point where our health systems are overwhelmed that not only the Covid-19 patients but everyone else will suffer not getting appropriately treated and end up similar to what happened in 1917.

3 Likes