Christianity and the Annihilation of the Native Americans

Hello! I am new to this and I am unsure if I am doing this right… Any how, thank you for allowing me to ask quesstions! Below is a question one of my friends raised to me. Can anybody help me with understanding and answering this question so that I can properly defend Christianity? Thank you again!

"If only a few Christians had taken land away from and annihilated the Indians, why didn’t the majority of Christians stand up for values invoking not harming another human being? Regardless of one’s religious beliefs, there are many different interpretations of one’s “Holy book,” if we take Christianity, I can list about 8 different denominations, and each emphasizes different aspects, and interpretations of the bible - and each one “knows” its version is “right.” "

3 Likes

Hello Robert, welcome to the connect forum. Look forward to sharing and growing with you. Just wanted to introduce myself, and help you get acclimated to the site. Thank you for the question here but there is also a place to share a little about you in the welcome to connect section.
In regards to your question, I am not certain we can answer the why to that question?
Like why did things happen the way they did with the native Americans specifically?
One would need to ascertain why Biblical Christianity changed from a 1 Corinthians 13 foundation to what it was in the early years of this country.
Did they forget the tyranny they left behind, what about the reformation of the church and its foundational principles? :pensive:

The many mistakes that man made due to our sinful nature may never be fully understood.
One truth we can understand, that when pain and hurt are involved forgiveness is available through Christ and a true believer. That remnant has always been part of this world.
Love them, show them, pray for them, help them to understand we all are just human and need a Savior. Hope and prayer I send your way.:pray:

4 Likes