Chromosome 2

Was watching a gentleman on youtube who has fallen away from being a follower of Jesus Christ. One of the reasons he did so was because he said Chromosome 2 seems to indicate so clearly that there is common ancestry with the ape. Sorry, I am not a scientist so I may not be articulating this question very well.

1 Like

So what is your question about this? Without an actual question, responding is rather like taking a shot in the dark. Still, I would say that if that one point is all it took to convince him to abandon his belief in Jesus, he likely was already looking for an excuse to do so. Can you give us a bit more context or perhaps the link to the video so we can respond more in-depth?

1 Like

Sorry I guess I need to be more specific in how I worded this. Does the argument about chromosome 2 point toward common ancestry between apes and man? I have been looking through so many Christian websites and have found no good argument that counters this belief. A good reference or book talking about this would be very helpful. My original post was referencing this youtube video. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1qbna6t1bzw&t=2215s

1 Like

Yes Rhett did have a lot of points as to why he stepped away from Christianity. This one was the most interesting to me and the one I could use some help working through. He is a very famous and influential you tuber.

1 Like

First, similarities in dna between species point equally well to 2 possibilities. Common descent, OR a common DESIGNER. If you are building similar things, why would you reinvent the wheel every time. Once you have an elbow joint that works pretty well, you’d use it anywhere you need that same function. Thus, such similarities do not provide evidence either direction on the question of God’s existence.