Dan Allyn

Hi Everyone, I live in Oklahoma City and I am 73. I have followed Ravi for years and after the passing of R C Sproul and Walter Martin, Ravi has become my favorite apologist.
I have been all over the world. I am an engineer by trade but have studied apologetics both formally and informally since my coming to Christ in 1983.

Right now I am working on a paper concerning Church History and want to write on what Christians of different traditions have in common.

The issue I would like to discuss is term Apostolic in the Nicene Creed. I believe that the early Church used the term to mean Apostolic Teaching not Apostolic Succession.

Can anyone help me with this?

8 Likes

Welcome Dan! That is cool to hear that you have studied apologetics and are writing a paper right now. Honestly, I am not an expert in the Nicene Creed, but I am curious as to what you mean by the early Church? Are you debating what the wording of the Nicene Creed actually was when it was first formed? Or is your question more about the meaning behind the wording?

3 Likes

Perhaps a little background will help. I am trying to write an informal paper calling for Church Unity and Apostolic Succession is one of the major issues.

At the time of The Nicene Creed there were 4 early Church Groups:

1 The Church of The East formed under Thomas and is now known as The Apostolic Church of The East and it separated at the Council of Ephesus 431.

1. The Oriental Church including the Coptic Church formed under James & Mark. It separated at the Council of Chalcedon 451

2. The Church of Constantinople formed under Peter, Andrew, Paul and John and is now known as The Eastern Orthodox Church after the Great Schism.

3. The Church of Rome formed under Paul and Peter and is now known as The Roman Catholic Church after the Great Schism.