Death in the garden before the fall

First off I’m not a scientist or a theologian but I am a just a lay type Christian so this may be very elementary. If so please bear with me. We are taught in the Christian tradition that before Adam and Eve made the fatal decision to succumb to the tempters offer to eat of the forbidden fruit and be like God, that death was not a part of their world. But they were told which food they could eat. Was this not to sustain life and if they ate nothing would they not have physically died? Were the cells of their bodies not constantly going through a life cycle of birth and death? Or would they have physically died whether or not they ate of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil? I know they died spiritually when they ate that fruit but didn’t the fruit and plants they did eat die going through the digestion process? This is just something I’ve wondered about. Thanks for any clarification or insight. David

5 Likes

@DavidKH Great question :slight_smile: There are two views on this topic.

1. When the Bible says that death came through Adam, it is referring only to human death. In this case, animals and plants still could have died prior to the fall.
  2. Plants cannot “die” and neither animals nor humans died prior to the fall

In both views, plants cannot die in the same way that animals or humans are able to die, so plants would have been eaten, dug up and ended their life cycle similar to the way they do today.

First View - No Human Death Before Fall