Does the Bible teach eternal separation from God?

(Winston Jones) #1

I am new to RZIM but I have noticed several questions about hell. I have a question too. If the unrepentant are to be eternally separated from God somewhere, in some kind of state of awareness, why does the Bible, from beginning to end, present the choice we have as humans as being life or death, to live or to perish, instead of the choice of eternal life in heaven or eternal life in hell, or, in other words, eternal life with God or eternal life apart from God?

Ask Michelle Tepper (August 13-17, 2018)
Is there a good reason why we should not give a direct answer to “Do you think I’m going to Hell?”
(SeanO) #2

@WinstonJones That is one of the arguments for what is known as annihilationism - where those who fall under God’s judgment are destroyed rather than tormented forever - they are annihilated - they die the second death, as it is called in Revelation. The website “rethinkinghell” below provides many articles and arguments for annihilationism.

Steve Gregg’s book offers a fuller treatment of the subject and presents all three historical views - eternal judgment, annihilation and the idea that all will eventually be cleansed through Christ.

This is one of those issues that Christians can disagree about and still worship together. But I have found it is also an issue that can give people a great deal of freedom when they realize that neither the Bible nor Christian history requires them to believe in a God who torments people forever. There are valid arguments for that view, but it is not the only view.

In the end, we can trust that the God of all the earth will do what is right and good and true (Genesis 18:25). I hope that is helpful. Feel free to ask more questions.

(Winston Jones) #3

Thank you, Sean, for your reply. I guess I am an annihilationist.