Dreams and their interpretation

(Candace foster) #1

I am studying the book of Genesis and have reached the Joseph part. It led me to the question…what about dreams today? It seems that the interpretation of dreams and finding meaning in them has been given over to the New Age practitioners in our present times.

I have read articles on dreams from several Biblical dictionaries and reviewed examples from the Bible. Just curious as to anyone’s thoughts? Do they still play a role in believers lives? What weight should we give to our dreams or others dreams in important decisions, etc? Should we look at them as God sharing a glimpse into the future?

I have a friend who is a counselor and has been trained in dream interpretation. She has been influenced by Buddhism and New Age philosophies. While I have always thought her dream interpretations are too much “hocus pocus”, I am seeking to find an understanding of the Christian viewpoint to aid in our discussions about faith, God, etc

(Hunter Vallejos) #2

One of the great apologists of our time who has recently passed, Nabeel Qureshi, a doctor and member of the RZIM team, converted to Christianity from Islam. In his discernment, he prayed to God to show him whether Islam was true or Christianity was true.

He outlines his story in “Seeking Allah, Finding Jesus” which is a lovely book. I highly recommend you read it. You can find it here: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07BB54FS5/ref=dp-kindle-redirect?_encoding=UTF8&btkr=1

During his time of intense prayer regarding conversion, God gave him 2 or 3 dreams at least, all pointing him towards Christianity. Not only that, but the dreams were interpreted by Muslims!

So yes, I believe God can speak to us through dreams. The problem is that most of the time, we just aren’t listening. Even more so, God can speak in our dreams so that even non-believers will give the correct interpretation of them!

(Ashish Paul) #3