Emotion Code, Mindfulness, EMDR, meditation

I am studying counseling. I have felt uncomfortable with some therapeutic techniques I’m learning about, but don’t understand precisely what aspects are aligned with truth (accordingly to God’s Word) and Science. Are science and the Word of God conflicting in the theoretical basis behind these techniques? Specifically, I am asking about Emotion Code, Mindfulness, EMDR (eye movement desensitization and reprocessing), and meditation. How should a Christian respond to these things?

1 Like

Hi Anna,

Thank you for your questions. The following articles pertain to EMDR and meditation. I have yet to find anything on Emotion Code and have not even heard of it until I read your post.

The next article is from a woman with past personal involvement in the occult and meditation. Using scriptures, she explains the differences between meditation from a Christian perspective and that of major world religions.

http://www.christiananswersforthenewage.org/Articles_Meditation.html

Hopefully these are helpful in clarifying mentally and spiritually what you sense the Lord is saying to you. Continuing to look for articles relating to the other topics you have mentioned.

Prayers for His wisdom in this situation.

Thank you again for your post and we welcome you to this community! Looking forward to learning from your contributions to Connect. :slightly_smiling_face:

mary beth

1 Like

Hi Anna,

I see that you are new to RZIM Connect! Welcome to the community! I hope it can be a meaningful experience for you!

Thank you for your questions! If you feel comfortable answering, may I ask what has made you feel uncomfortable? Have you found contradiction or overlap in the theoretical basis behind these techniques and Scripture?