Extraterrestrial life

Hello everyone, there being more than 100 billion galaxies and almost the same number of stars in each galaxy, there is a hypothesis that we can’t be the only living beings in the universe. What if there are other life forms somewhere? Would this in any way write out the creation theory as we know it from a Christian perspective?

1 Like

Hi, @Vincent!

Great question!

I am by no means an expert, but I do not believe this would undermine the creation theory at all. I do not see any reason extra-terrestrial life would contradict scripture. In fact, I hope, if we do make contact with an alien lifeform, we can ask them if they, too, have met Christ! I suspect that there is life out there somewhere, and I believe that wherever it is God is its maker!

1 Like

The hypothesis that we “can’t be” the only living creatures in the universe is an old one that modern mathematics has largely debunked. In fact, it is very much MORE likely that there would have never been ANY life in the universe. Some calculations have put the chance of life arising in the universe at 1 in a number so large that there are more zeroes in it than there are atoms in the universe.
Assuming a naturalistic perspective, of course.

That said, I don’t see why life can’t also exist elsewhere within a biblical framework. The Bible certainly doesn’t prohibit the possibility.

2 interesting responses; I agree that logically it is possible.