Gilberto

Greetings dear RZIM Family!

It’s an pleasure to join this community of people seeking the Truth. My name is Gilberto Salinas, I am from Laredo, Texas. I have been a professor of Psychology for the past 18 years at Texas A&M International University, although now I am an adjunct. I am also an Executive Pastor for Laredo First Assembly of God Church, where I pastor the Spanish speaking congregation. I also have a thriving private practice with my wife of 20 years Elda. We have four daughters and a son. I joined RZIM Connect to explore my calling to evangelism and passion for apologetics. Ravi was a tremendous influence in my development as a believer and love for apologetics. I grew up in a Roman Catholic home; however, out practice was superficial. At 15 I walked away from the church and eventually God. I embraced naturalism as a worldview and became cynical towards all religion. My wife is a PK and I was struck by her when I met her. I represented everything she was warned against, but deep inside I had questions, lots of them. Unfortunately, most Christians I met at the time could not answer them in a Logical sense. Elda and I struggled for over 6 years as our beliefs did not line up, it was then, a few months after graduating with my Ph.D., that I had a Paul moment with our Lord Jesus. The Holy Spirit strongly used Ravi and Lee Strobel to have my questions answered. I was introduced to them in a “Faith v. Reason” Sunday school class I had at the church I now minister at.
Apologetics helped me come to knowing Jesus , and I would love to learn how to effectively use it to challenge the current claims against Christianity. I would like to participate in any way that is useful to this community, and learn how to be better at this at the same time!

Blessings to all,

Gilberto

8 Likes

Hi @gilberto-salinas,