Help for angry, suicidal friend

I have a friend that was a christian (he has since claimed that he is not anymore) and made a really troubling post on social media. I have spoken with him and am unsure of how I should respond.

Everything started witha post asking if you ever wish you could die (he was pretty specific and graphic). As responses poured in of encouragement and care, his basic response is that God is the enemy and “life is a sick twisted joke.” I have tried to talk to him (not just via facebook but in person) but he is pretty angry at God and I cant seem to discover what has happened.

I need advice as to how to help my friend. I also know God is working and Aaron (that’s his name) needs to choose for himself. I just hope to be as prepared as possible to help.

3 Likes

To begin with I am not a professional counselor but would recommend you try to get a professional involved. On your part pray against the demonic attack against his mind. I will be praying with you for him. If he is willing to talk just be a good listener and friend. Pray as he speaks and allow the Holy Spirit to speak to him as he shares. Remember this
Confess your trespasses to one another, and pray for one another, that you may be healed. The effective, fervent prayer of a righteous man avails much.
James 5:16
Standing in the gap with you in this
Mike

7 Likes

I must agree with @mgaplus4. I would encourage you to do your best to get a professional counselor involved. If nothing else please send them the prevention hotline 1-800-273- TALK.

Again, prayer is you best bet in a situation like this. We will keep Aaron in prayer as well. It might be good to just sit with this person, if the opportunity presents itself, and listen to them. Most often, in situations such as this, argumentation is at best ineffectual and at worst detrimental. Listen with a loving ear, offer encouragement, and when the person starts to ask questions provide gentle and loving answers.