How can it be wrong if it doesn't hurt anyone?

(Tim Behan) #1

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time posting here so just quickly introducing myself before asking my question. My name is Tim, I’m married and have two children. I live in New Zealand, I’m a Construction Site Manager and I’m 34 years old. That’s me in a very brief nutshell.

My question that I would like to hear all your thoughts on is this:

I have had a number of conversations recently, many of them centre on the issue of homosexuality in particular, but they’re all around free choice of some sort. And I keep getting asked the question… “How can it be wrong if it doesn’t hurt anyone else?”. So, in the instance of homosexuality, if two consenting adults want to engage themselves in that sort of relationship, what can be wrong with it if it’s just between them and not hurting anyone else?

I would like to hear everyone’s thoughts on a gracious and yet still a good thought-provoking answer to that. But I don’t want to limit the answer to “because God said so” because I don’t believe for a second that God makes arbitrary rules and therefore anything he says is for our benefit… so I’m trying to think of a way to answer this (or question this) in order to show that actually it is for our benefit that God has made things this way.

Thoughts?

(SeanO) #2

@tsbehan Thank you for posting. I’ve always wanted to visit New Zealand. I think at the heart of this question “what can be wrong if it doesn’t hurt anyone?” is both a misunderstanding of human identity and a misunderstanding of how sin is truly destructive.

Of course - loving our neighbor and living lives set apart to Christ in word and deed is often the most powerful witness.

1 - A Misunderstanding of Identity

Sometimes when someone poses a question about sexual ethics to me, I respond with this question: “Did you realize that according to the Bible there is no sex in Heaven?”