How do I witness to homeless people?

Anyone have any advice for evangelism to homeless people?

6 Likes

I’m a noob to this haha. But, the thing I’ve notice that helps me the most when talking to anyone about the gospel is that first and foremost I just spark up conversation and try to talk about life, what landed them on the streets, what their struggles are, ETC. Then for me, it naturally transitions over to Jesus lol. Like i said, i am by no means an expert or anything, I just have a lot of relatable experiences with the struggles that people have been through, as I’m sure that we all do. Thank you for taking the time to care about the homeless, I know that a lot of folks i stop and talk to haven’t been approached with love in quite a while so it always makes me feel good to bring some kind of happiness into the world. Good luck on your endeavors

5 Likes

Hello @alanna1tomlinson,
I love this question, and it’s very timely since homelessness is quite a problem, and each person on the street can be a different situation.

I agree with @ericlc25 to strike up conversation with the person and ask them about themselves. I think many homeless feel invisible. But as a believer, I think we have an obligation to help without enabling self destructive habits such as drug and alcohol addictions.

I’ve observed some things that are helpful to me in taking steps with the individual. Pray as you encounter the person that the Holy Spirit will inspire you to do what is good and helpful.