How do you make space for Evangelistic Conversations?

(SeanO) #1

I was reading the below article on tips for evangelism and one of the tips was to ‘adjust your life patterns to make conversations possible’. This tip was challenging to me, so I was curious how you go about this in your life?

For me, I think I simply make space as those conversations arise. Even if I have other things going on, if an opportunity to converse with someone else arises I try to make space for that person in my life. But honestly, I do not go out of my way to make this type of space.

How about you?

https://evangelism.intervarsity.org/resource/6-conversational-evangelism-tips-master-himself

(Sarah Malcangi) #2

It’s a challenge. I’ve learned to slow down and a few years ago I started studying philosophy and that has helped a lot too. Good tips in the article.

(SeanO) #3

@SarahMalcangi Yes, slowing down is hard in these very busy days.

How have you found philosophy to be helpful?

(Sarah Malcangi) #4

Well if I’m talking to an unbeliever I ask questions about the meaning of life, how do they do what they believe is true, etc.

It has helped me ask questions about life to that unbeliever. I have found a lot more common ground that way.

(SeanO) #5

@SarahMalcangi That is a helpful point - that philosophy can provide a common ground with which to discuss deeper matters of life with unbelievers

(Olivia Davis) #6

I think that needing to making space for evangelistic conversations is a really great idea! I’ve never really thought about it, but a few ideas come to my mind.