How to become an apologist

How can I become an apologist? Is it possible to study with the RZIM remotely? Thank you :slight_smile:

2 Likes

In some ways the Bible calls ALL believer’s to be apologist’s in that we should all be able to “give a defense for the hope that is within us”. That being said, I was mostly self-taught through various books I read before getting more formal training through RZIM (EAP) and Crossexamined Instructor’s Academy. I recently finished my Master’s in Apologetics and did it online so that may be a good option in these times.

But I encourage you not to wait for the formal study and to begin reading and studying and engaging in conversations with those who don’t know Christ.

Lastly, I believe if you search RZIM.org they have online courses available.

God bless.

3 Likes

Hey @guyfava,

This is a great question. There are many offerings through RZIM, but if you haven’t checked out the RZIM Academy, I’d started there—especially for remote learning.

https://www.rzim.org/training/rzim-academy/about-academy

5 Likes

Hey @guyfava, in my humble opinion, becoming an apologist is as easy as learning arguments in defense of the Christian message, then gently, lovingly praying that that God will guide you towards people who disagree with you!

As to the first goal, we’d love to have you join us on one of our fantastic RZIM Academy Courses, curated by the incredible @Ivy_Tyson. I’m sure there are more than a few GAC attendees who can vouch for how good academy is!! There are also a ton of books that cover essential apologetics topics. Abdu Murray’s book Saving Truth and Rebecca McLaughlin’s book Confronting Christianity are great places to start.

But truly, I’m convinced the best way to sharpen your apologetics skills is always going to be in conversation with people who disagree with you. It’s our view at RZIM that the highest goal of apologetics will always be evangelism.