I was an actor in my first life!

(Nick DeMarco) #1

Hi everyone!

I am signing up for the “Understanding and Answering Islam” online stream for Jan. 11-12. It is my first time taking an RZIM course. I have seen numerous RZIM conferences on YouTube, but this my first formal enrollment.

Currently, I am celebrating my 15th year as an 8th grade public school teacher in NJ, near Newark Airport. I love my job! It is, however, my second career. Prior to education, I was in showbiz. I was an actor and comic. for 10 yrs. I mostly worked in theatre and traveled the country as a performer.

My wife Diane and I have been married for 16 yrs. We’ve known each other for a total of 28 yrs. During our friendship and dating, she became a Christian. In turn, she began talking to me about the Bible, Jesus, and salvation. After some kicking, screaming, and denying, the Lord opened my eyes, my mind, and my heart. I accepted Jesus as my Lord and Savior in 1998. Of course, my testimony is a bit longer than this brief introduction, but this is good enough for now.

We have a 9 yr. old daughter - Mia. She keeps us busy. She loves to talk. My wife Diane was also an actress. Since Mia has 2 performers as parents, it’s no surprise that she’s a ham. She is learning tennis and guitar. Recently, her rendition of “Jingles Bells” actually began sounding like “Jingle Bells!”

Currently, I am earning my master’s in English and Global Studies at Liberty University online. It’s quite a bit of hard work, and sometimes I feel like my head is going to explode, but it the experience has been rewarding. The professors and staff are top notch!

I look forward to being a part of this RZIM online community!
Cheers and Happy new Year!
Nick

(SeanO) #2

@demarco4109 Welcome to Connect! Sounds like you’ve had quite an exciting life. May the Lord Jesus continue to bless you and your family as you walk with Him and open doors for you to share Jesus with those in your community. See you on the forms.