If a person accepts Jesus and is saved, but still commits sin, is that person still saved?

Hi Alycia,

I am new to the RZIM forum and this is my first time asking a question. Thank you for taking the time to answer questions!

I hope you can answer my question and also refer me to further references.

If a person accepts Jesus and is saved, but still commits sin, is that person still saved?

My understanding is that once we accept Jesus we should want to live a life without sin, but how can we actually never sin again, since we are human? If we could live a sinless life, why would we need Jesus?

To clarify my question, I’m not referring to a person who decides to take advantage of being saved and just repeatedly sins because he/she thinks now they can do anything and still go to heaven. I believe, in that case, the person was probably really not saved in the first place.

I am referring to a saved person who struggles with certain types of sin, such as sex outside of marriage, or drinking too much, or has anger issues, or has an addition to drugs – just a few examples. The person knows the sin is wrong and tries to stop, but has trouble completely stopping the behavior.

Thank you!
Delia

3 Likes

Delia,

First of all, thank you for joining connect! I hope that you find your time here enriching :slight_smile: .

I thank you for your deeply sincere question. The Christian lifestyle is full of challenges that often times make us wonder where we stand with God. So here are a couple things I would love for us to think through.

What saves us?