If Christians believe in absolute truth, why are there so many different denominations?

(Whitney Bowman) #1

Hi everyone

I am new to Connect, and I apologize if this is in the wrong place. I would really appreciate some help in understanding (and explaining) how we as Christians believe in absolute truth yet there are so many different denominations. To my non-Christian friend, I think it seems as though we as Christians can’t agree - so why should they believe?

Thanks in advance for your help. I was recently introduced to RZIM by a family member, and in so many ways I have found the same joy I experienced when I first heard of Jesus. Somewhere in the threads I’ve perused I read that people may become Christians for social, rational, and emotional reasons. I had two and was missing the rational, which needless to say caused some problems. Thank you for the work and commitment of RZIM.

(Jamie Hobbs) #2

This one confuses a lot of people, @wbowman. Lost and saved alike. I’ve recently had the blessing of preaching a couple messages on unity in the church, which speaks at least in part to this topic. When the non-Christian looks at the church and sees disunity, they often rightly think, “why should I join that disunity when I have plenty of my own?” One of the passages I preached from was Titus 3, and verse 9 says, “But avoid foolish disputes, genealogies, contentions, and strivings about the law; for they are unprofitable and useless.” Let there be no dissension in the church.