If not Daniel Tiger then what?

Hello, my question pertains to the latest Halloween episode of Thinking Out Loud. Cameron specifically says at one point he has an issue with Daniel Tiger because the show doesn’t show actual truth or better yet, reality to our kids. As a father of two I’d like to know what kinds of things I should expose my kids to. Thank you for taking the time to read my question.

2 Likes

That’s a tough question. I don’t have children myself, but I am a music teacher, so I get to interact with many children on a regular basis. There’s no one right answer because every child is different, a unique creation of God.

I was a particularly sensitive child, so I couldn’t handle being exposed to as much as most of my peers. We didn’t celebrate Halloween because the occult is too real and too dangerous. I can’t treat witches and wizards like fun childhood creatures.

However, it’s possible to go too far in sanitizing things for children. I’ve seen young people become very curious about what’s out in the world that their parents won’t let them see. Some teens go off to college and discover there’s a lot in history and other subjects that they were never told about. Then they question the truth of their whole spiritual foundation. They feel like their parents and teachers lied to them.

Open conversation helps a lot. If something is overly sanitized, you can talk with your children about that. If evil is depicted, you can talk with them about that. If God is an integral part of our conversations, children learn through us how to apply God’s Word to everyday life, just like Deuteronomy 6:7 indicates.

And these words that I command you today shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your children, and shall talk of them when you sit in your house, and when you walk by the way, and when you lie down, and when you rise. (Deuteronomy 6:6-7 ESV)