Introduction: Bill Spencer

member_introductions

(Bill Spencer) #1

From Colorado Springs, Colorado, hello everyone and thanks for letting me connect. I’m eager to join with you in this forum as well as attend the Emerging Apologist Program in the June 2018 cohort.

What a blessing that I was raised in a Christian home and was “positionally” saved at an early age—Christ took my rightful place on the cross when I was only 11 years old. But it wasn’t until later in life, as is the case for so many raised in a Christian home, that I discovered that God also wanted an experiential relationship with me, connected to the cross of Jesus Christ through the Holy Spirit. That happened in the summer of 1975. Ever since, I’ve continued down that sanctification highway with Him and I’m growing still.

There are other ways to describe me. I am a retired Air Force officer (29 years) and reconnaissance pilot who just can’t seem to retire. I don’t really find anything about “retiring” in the scriptures anyway.

After the Air Force, I taught social science in a charter school briefly and then worked for nearly eight years at Focus on the Family in their public policy department. Now I teach part-time for Colorado Christian University (business courses), receive the blessing of welcoming brothers and sisters in Christ into Woodmen Valley Chapel’s Monument campus on the weekends, and go fly fishing from time to time.