Introduction: bronie

(Bronwyn pearse) #1

Hi everyone my name is Bronie. I live in Australia. I am a school teacher of junior primary children. For the last 12 years I’ve had the privilege of working with children who have come to Australia with no English. They are mainly refugees. So I work a lot with muslims particularly as well as people from other faiths. Australia on the whole is not a practising Christian country. I attend influences church under Ashley and Jane Evans who are actually living in Atlanta where they have established a church. I mix with a lot of non Christians and sharing my faith is challenging in the sense of making it relevant and understandable to the average person not going through traumatic experiences . I reached my 50th birthday last year and felt challenged by the fact I haven’t led anyone to Christ for a few decades. Australia is not like America where there is I expect , an undercurrent of Christian understanding .in Australia there are two no go subjects , politics and religion. You simply avoid them most of the time. Despite this earlier last year I had been having a conversation with an atheist colleague and I got stumped so I decided to do more research and stumbled across Ravi in u tube. To put it simply I have been continually listening to him and others including John Lennox. I got a few basic understandings and have been able to discuss more with my atheist friend who now considers himself a deist and acknowledges the Christian principles under which our democracy in australa has been established on. I have also had a number of conversations with other staff who are from other faiths on the uniqueness of Christianity. It’s been wonderful. You must understand I have been a Christian for over 40 years and have sat through thousands of sermons yet I have not felt strong enough to articulate my faith. To feel like I have a backbone to my faith which has helped tremendously. I have felt that the lord has led me to rzim and I inte