Introduction: Harvey Nimmo

member_introductions

(Harvey Nimmo) #1

Hi everyone. I’m Harvey, a Brit living in north Germany. I studied Physics and worked until my retirement in the aerospace industry, about 38 years in Germany, finally in support of the European operations on the International Space Station operations.

I gave my life to Jesus at the age of 14 and was baptised at 16. I have been married to Jenny for 48 years and our 6 super kids have presented us with 14 lovely grandchildren.

Now in retirement i am on the board of governers of a Christian school. That is a terrific opportunity to help thinkers to beiieve and believers to think.

(SeanO) #2

@harvey Welcome to Connect! Your life sounds like quite an adventure. May Christ bless your family, your ministry and your time here on Connect.

(Keldon Scott) #3

@harvey welcome aboard. Sounds like you’ve had many experiences. How does the physics background you have interplay with your role at the school? I’m sure you’ll be a great asset to this site. Share often, and I look forward to reading your posts.

(Carson Weitnauer) #4

Hi @Harvey,

Welcome! I appreciate the example you have set before us of running the race well. Your work on the International Space Station has had benefits for all of us. I look forward to learning from you in the discussions here, getting to know you better, and as we’re able, encouraging you in your walk with Christ.

To pop an idea out there - we’d love to have the students at the school where you serve ask their faith questions in Connect!

(Harvey Nimmo) #5

Thanks for your encouragement! I’m very much in the learning phase, how I might be able to contribute to the site.

The school is a Christian foundation. It has around 1500 pupils from 6 to 18 years of age. About 80% of them are not associated with a church. All staff are committed Christians.