Introduction: Julia Bracewell

member_introductions

(Julia Bracewell) #1

Hi everyone, my name is Julia Bracewell and I am a recent graduate of Tyndale University (formerly Ontario Bible College where Ravi studied!). I graduated from the BA Business and International Development program and I just moved back to Windsor, Ontario where I’m working as the Women’s Community Outreach Coordinator for the AIDS Committee here. I do community advocacy and harm reduction work for female substance users, sex workers and women at risk for HIV transmission.

I’ve enjoyed listening to Ravi and the RZIM team speak on and off for a long time, but recently have been diving in a bit deeper as I find myself in a work environment where there is no right and wrong and we do not take moral stances (which i think is a moral stance) or really fight for anyone because “everyone knows best for themselves”. My beliefs about many things are considered morally wrong. For example, my belief that it is a good thing to try and help a women find safer employment than sex work is bad because its seen as judgey… you get the idea.

Anyways, in this new environment I’m looking for ways to still be able to share the gospel, empower my clients in a way that honours God, and grow in my faith. It seems like this is a great place to engage in this time. I look forward to connecting with you all!

(Carson Weitnauer) #2

Hi @Julia_Bracewell,

Welcome - I am grateful for your introduction; it really helps me to get to know you a bit! It sounds like you are in a very challenging environment - for your own career, to care for your clients, and to share the gospel. We want to be praying for you and encouraging you.