Introduction: Mele Martinez

member_introductions

(Mele Martinez) #1

Hi everyone, my name is Mele and I am from Tucson, Arizona.

I’m a wife and mother of two girls: Lola, age 13 and Gloria, age 5. I am a creative writer and flamenco artist and I teach 1st year college English courses at the University of Arizona. I am currently writing a book length manuscript, The Molino, a story about God’s faithful presence. This memoir in vignettes is written both in prose and poetry. The story is set in one of Tucson’s oldest tamal and tortilla factories, a business opened by my great-grandfather in 1933.

I was raised Catholic but became a christian in adulthood. I have been following RZIM for over a decade and I’ve been blessed by the many messages I’ve heard, watched, and read. I’m grateful for this ministry.

As christians and Mexican-Americans living in the Southwest, my family and I have struggled to find a church home. We are enthusiastic to engage issues of Christian ethnic/cultural diversity and how we as believers might share the gospel message in different (and often artistic) languages.

Thankful to God for His work through RZIM and looking forward to finding a new RZIM community here.

(Megan Kemp) #2

Hi there, Mele!

I’m so glad you’ve joined RZIM Connect. Welcome!

I first saw flamenco in Albuquerque this past spring. I had always wanted to see it, and it was outstanding!

Your book sounds fascinating regarding God’s faithful presence. What an encouraging truth to remember.

Bless you, and I hope you make yourself at home in this online community.

In Christ,
Megan

(Melvin Greene) #3

Hi @melemartinez! It’s great to have you here! I pray that God blesses your efforts with writing that manuscript. I look forward to interacting and learning from you here at Connect.

(Mele Martinez) #4