Introduction: Omar Rushlive Arellano

member_introductions

(Omar Rushlive Lozada Arellano) #1

Hi everyone! My name is Omar Rushlive L. Arellano. I am 26 years old. I am from Quezon City, Philippines. I am a Registered Nurse. I graduated from Trinity University of Asia. I was an atheist way back in college. I don’t think it was based on the intellect, but more of the emotion. I had problems with my father, but what made me more atheistic was the problem of evil. It was so real to me in a sense that aside from the injustices I saw in the world, it seems that the Lord was absent in the life of my family.

One time came in my college years that we were basically not doing anything. This gave me more time to think about random things. God used it for me to realize how systematic the human body is. I had difficulty reconciling this with my atheism. So even though the problem of evil was unanswered, it made me think that there must be a God, but I don’t know which one. This led me to search and study different religions. It was amusing for me during those time that I found Christianity unique, in a sense that it’s the only religion I found where God would initiate in reaching out to man, not man reaching out first to God for salvation. I did not put my faith in the Christian God during that time.

One time came when a friend invited me in Nurses Christian Fellowship in our college. It was part of Intervarsity Christian Fellowship here in the Philippines, but the organization was made to focus more on nurses. A senior asked me where I was going when I would die, I said that I was going to hell. Then he asked me the favorite question of those who use the evangelism explosion method, “if you are in the gates of heaven with God and He asked you, “why should I let you enter into my heaven?” What would you answer?”