Introduction: Peter McNaught

(Peter David McNaught) #1

Heyy
My name is Peter McNaught. I am a resident/prison pastor at a local Wesleyan church in West Michigan. My wife and I feel called to plant a Missional Community church in the near future. At the moment, we are also building a nonprofit that will buy/build/restore houses for the homeless, those coming out of prison, or any one in need. My wife is an interior designer and the intention is that she will design or redesign the houses, our team will do the building and fill the occupancy, while I build relationships with the residents and disciple them.
I graduated from Indiana Wesleyan University with a B.S. in Christian Ministries and a Masters in Practical Theology. I love deep theological thinking, the kind that takes weeks to mull over before understanding. Some of my favorite theologians are Gustavo Gutierrez, Howard Thurman, Karl Barth, Thomas Oden, and Gregory Boyd. I also thoroughly enjoy reading the literature of the New Atheists Sam Harris, Richard Dawkins, Christopher Hitchens, and Daniel Dennett. Although I usually disagree entirely with their moral and logical perspectives, I love reading their material. Generally I enjoy reading things with which I disagree, with recent interest in Jonathon Haidt and Jordan Peterson.
Some of my favorite topics of discussion are theodicy, sanctification, liberation, and social justice. I am also interested in people’s personal world view, how and why they have come to believe what they believe; that is very much important to me. I love to see all the small parts that have come to shape each individual because those personality traits have impacted their perspective on God whether they like it or not.

(SeanO) #2