Introduction: R. Tim Nolin

member_introductions

(R.Tim Nolin) #1

Hi everyone, I am an EMS helicopter pilot with a week on, week off schedule. My wife, Mahadyan, is from Indonesia, a graduate of the Bandung Seminary who has a heart to see children come to know the Lord and loves hymns and cooking. Our first son, Benaiah, is five and our daughter Yvette is now three. A wonderful gift from the Lord, our children are as great a delight as they are a challenge that requires our full exercise of the Holy Spirit’s enabling grace. I am a Texas transplant from New England after retiring from the Marine Corps. I am a graduate of Biola’s Science and Religion Master’s program and had the wonderful opportunity to attend RZIM’s Summer Residency at the Oxford Center for Christian Apologetics. I desire to multiply this wonderful knowledge that the Lord has provided for His good use.

I am a late Christian believer having been raised in a semi-Catholic environment before indulging in a wayward existential lifestyle. I recognize the danger of a culture that enables our selfish inclinations towards autonomy having been drawn into the anti-theistic spheres of atheism, pluralism, scientism, hedonism, and relativism. I can attest that I was not seeking the Lord when He brought me to my senses by way of a disjunctive moral dilemma I could not satisfactorily resolve according to my deficient worldview. Having lived the first two-thirds of my life apart from God I am eager to make up for the delinquency. Since my conversion I enjoy studying theology, reading various genres of Christian literature, and find apologetics a particularly interesting aspect of Christianity. I appreciate apologetics and how it has strengthened my faith, yet have to admit not sharing it very well in a practical, culturally engaging manner. At this time, I am concentrating on being an ambassador for Christ by being a discipler and mentor to believers as an advocate for God’s majesty.

(Carson Weitnauer) #2