Introduction: Riz Crescini

(Riz Crescini) #1

Hi everyone,

Greetings from Japan! I am from the United States but have been living in Japan for 19 years. I am a part-time university lecturer and professional photographer. My wife and I are missionaries through Japanese Evangelical Missionary Society (JEMS). I am also currently pursuing an MA in Cultural Apologetics through Houston Baptist University. I haven’t taken the Core Module course yet but plan on doing so in the near future. I am looking forward to contributing as well as learning from all of you. To God be the glory!

-Riz

(SeanO) #2

@rizkun327 Welcome to Connect! I’d be curious to hear more about the program you are in on cultural apologetics. I did my MA at Moody in cross-cultural studies and really enjoyed it. May the Lord bless your ministry in Japan and open eyes / hearts to see His love and truth. Look forward to hearing from you on the forms.

(Riz Crescini) #3

Hi Sean,

Nice to meet you. I just completed my first semester of the MA program. I still have 2.5 years to go. The focus of the program is on imaginative apologetics. While there is a philosophical track, the core of the program focuses on the integration of the arts, especially in literature. When you look at the core courses, it looks like a Great Books or Humanities program but with apologetics as the driving focus. It’s perfect for my cross-cultural ministry among the Japanese. I am currently enrolled in a class called C.S. Lewis and Imaginative Apologetics. I am learning so much!

Thank you for being the first to reach out. What is your line of work?

Peace,

Riz

(SeanO) #4

@rikun327 I am a computer engineer by trade - coding and paper writing. I really enjoy the constant analysis and problem solving - def a blessing. What do you do?

Your coursework sounds like something I would enjoy immensely. Are you going to get to read George MacDonald and Tolkien as well? How did you get interested in imaginative apologetics?