Introduction: Whitney Bowman

(Whitney Bowman) #1

Hi everyone! I joined Connect a few months back, but am just now getting around to introducing myself! I’m a grad student at Kansas State studying agricultural economics. Since I’m behind the times, it seems a bit impossible to introduce myself without including a sincere thank you.

I grew up in a Christian home and church and came to know and love Jesus as my Lord and Savior at a young age. But I let my faith hit the stumbling block in high school and college with the undercurrent of selected literature, class discussion, and the university’s explanation of science and faith. When I didn’t have answers, I hurt for my classmates and felt lost and a lot of shame. Needless to say, when I then assumed that perhaps its wrong to wonder at all it a lot of problems. I was scared to poke too hard, because if logically it did fall apart I knew I had nothing in this world. A few months ago, after much persistent urging from my sister, I joined Connect and have since tapped into other RZIM resources. When the faith of the heart meets the faith of the mind, it is quite incredible. In many ways I’ve found the same joy, hope, and peace bubbling over as when I first heard of Jesus! It’s been such a joy to share this and other resources with friends!

Thank you to all who make this forum what it is. I greatly appreciate the opportunity to journey with others who want to know Jesus more. I look forward to continuing to learn from you!

(SeanO) #2

@wbowman Praise the Lord for His work in your heart and life! That is so encouraging to hear how Christ has worked in your life through RZIM. I agree that there is a great peace and joy that comes from recognizing that there are good answers to the intellectual questions posed by our culture and with which we struggle ourselves. God is the God of truth!