Is A Person "Born That Way"?

sexuality

(Warner Joseph Miller) #1

Yesterday, I had a very interesting conversation with a group of friends and fellow believers about the issue of someone being “born that way” – specifically regarding homosexuality. It’s a conversation that I have with relative frequency both with Jesus-followers and non. Thankfully, it’s rarely (if ever) contentious but I do acknowledge differing views particularly from fellow believers. I definitely have a view but am quite interested what the Connect community has to say about it. Is a person “born that way” or is it a choice? What are the repercussions of either viewpoint? Thanks, in advance, community for your insight and thoughtful discussion. Cheers!

(Kim O.) #2

A brief comment:I’m not an expert on homosexuality, but have been in the conversation for awhile, off and on since I was 14, I’m now 51. I was a dancer and throughout my journey have encountered a variety of conversations on this topic. I will say from my experience in those I have been friends with the majority have not been honored. Many have sexual abuse, broken relationships, unformed relationships with dad and the like. I think what bothers me is that the gay community doesn’t acknowledge this anymore, it as though it’s not part of the equation. I personally do not think one is born gay. There are churches out there that are saying this is a gray area, let God be God. Do I think a man and another man can honestly care about one another deeply yes of course. But often when I see gay couples there is a male and female version in my mind this is a mere shadow of what God has wanted truly. I think one has to ask why is that? Why is it that even in a gay relationship there is STILL a male and female.

I do know there are those who “feel” they are born gay, those that have “gay feelings” and they are seen differently.

More later on this, but that’s what I have for now:)
Kim

(SeanO) #3