Is it ok for a Christian artist to paint a nude figure?

Hi Logan,

I have a question that is very close to my heart. I’m an educated painter, and I might paint professionally someday soon. I’m facing a quandary with Christian morals when it comes to painting and displaying nude figure work. I attended a college where I would have been expelled had my paintings been shown on campus. Even for study, no model was allowed to be fully nude. I was wondering if you could help me understand how Christianity might view either the clothed painted portrait or the nude portrait.

Respectfully,
Bethany

3 Likes

Dear Bethany,

Thank you again for this question – I can tell it’s close to your heart. I must say, I am not an artist, but in preparing this answer I spoke with a friend involved in a wonderful organization called Imago. They actually select the art that rotates through the RZIM Canada office!

It was helpful speaking to him – and he said he would glad to personally connect you with artists who are mature believers who have given much thought to this (more than I have!). Nevertheless, here are some thoughts I’ve gathered:

It’s first important for us first to have a good “biblical theology of nakedness.” I think there should be at least two components:

1. The goodness of the created order. God in Genesis 1:31 calls the human He has just created “very good.” And part of that goodness is the physical body. We are not just disembodied spirits that will eventually drift to heaven to float forever – we are embodied, and our eternal state will be embodied like Christ (the firstfruit, 1 Corinthians 15:23). We are not gnostics – our bodies are part of God’s “very good” creation of humanity.