Joaquin Phoenix plays Jesus in a new film. Here's one thing he refused to do

(Patrick Thompson) #1

Hi,
This is my first time posting on the site.
I found this article and I wanted to share it.
It’s some background on a movie called “Mary Magdalene.”
Honestly, I only skimmed through the article, but I believe the article can be summed up by this quote:
“In “Mary Magdalene,” Phoenix decided to go with his gut, licking a mudless thumb and gently rubbing the woman’s eyes.
“It freed me up, in some ways, to discover what is truthful in the moment,” he said. “That moment is not so much about a real miracle. It’s about someone who has been dismissed by society finally being seen, embraced and encouraged to join the broader community. To me, that is a miracle. There’s something profoundly beautiful about that sentiment.” “

This article is jumbled mess of genuine intentions and individual, relativistic opinions about the most important person in history.

How would you affirm using resources outside of the Bible as important to verifying the authenticity of the Bible while turning the conversation back the hope Christians place in the person of Jesus Christ?

(Jimmy Sellers) #2

First welcome to Connect, it is a great forum filled with like minded believers with one goal, to spread the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

Now to your comments.
I have often marveled at the fact that Jesus’s detractors then and now never criticized the results of his miracles or healings, example: the guy still walks with a limp; he doesn’t have 20/20 vision; or old Lazarus isn’t quite the same. They did criticize him for who and how and when he did his works. In the article it would appear the Mr. Phoenix says nothing new,
This might be a helpful way to turn the conversation back to Jesus and his Kingdom work.

(Patrick Thompson) #3

That’s a great point @Jimmy_Sellers. Thanks for taking the time to reply.