Knowing the will of God

Hi everyone,

Recently I’ve been struggling with different decisions, and how do we know what Gods will is? How do we know when to rest with God or work passionately on something?
I’ve got so many passions such as woodworking which I’ve put on the back burner for many years but recently thought I felt God prompting me to get back into it through unlikely series of events… But how do we know if that is selfish or valid? I work in healthcare which is draining me of all my energy, I can’t even get out of bed without a struggle :confused:

I would love any biblical input into this delemia :blush:
Thanks for reading :sweat_smile:

4 Likes

Hi Tia,
I’m sorry to hear that work is pretty hard going, I hope it will improve soon.

I won’t try and answer the question of God’s will as I’d like others to join in the conversation too.

I’ve been working for 20+ years (in info technology) and have been through some difficult times. I struggle to get the balance between work/life right, and there are so many competing demands for our time. Work, family, parenting, marriage, church responsibilities seem heavy a lot of days. Honestly, sometimes I’d like to run away from the lot; but I know that’s not the answer (not to mention that would betray the people I love, the responsibilities I have (as husband/father) and talents God’s give me), God gives us enough strength to go through tough times, not escape from them.

This question really made me think; can we work passionately on something (paid work, volunteer, church work, a creative outlet such as a hobby, or whatever else) but leave the results with our work with God? We can’t control what others think of us, how others react to our to our personality, and we can’t control life events, and sometimes our efforts will fail and we can get up and try again and learn from it.