Matt Hawker

member_introductions
(Matt Hawker) #1

Hi everyone, I’m Matt from Norfolk in the UK. I’m married to Selina and we have 3 teenage children. I work part time as a hospital doctor (physician/ophthalmologist) and part time as a pastor/evangelist. I’m really interested in apologetics, particularly where the science/religion debate touches on health/disease. How do people as whole persons experience and foster health? What makes us sick? How can we heal? I studied a MA in theology, spirituality and health a couple of years ago - it was fascinating! I’m interested in all of the discussion threads here and hope to contribute along the way. Many blessings to you! Matt

10 Likes
Phil Yuhas
(Keldon Scott) #2

Welcome aboard @matthawker. Very glad you joined. Your experiences especially in health sector will be so helpful here. And, your training certainly will be a benefit to all those who get an opportunity to read your posts. I look forward to reading your posts. God-bless you and your ministry.

5 Likes
(Daniel) #3

Hi, Matt. Welcome. You have an interesting combination of professions. There are many theologians here :grinning:, but also doctors like @oryn_yong. Maybe you are also interested in testimonies like this one A Modern Medical Miracle

4 Likes
(Kathleen) #4

Welcome to Connect, @matthawker! We’re glad you’ve joined us. :slight_smile: I’m fascinated by those questions you posed. I have a number of friends in the heath field (mainly doctors and nurses), and at some point we have discussed those topics. It’s so fascinating to hear their perspectives! I myself am a Theology & Counselling student at the moment, and feel like those three threads (theology, spirituality, and health) are prominent in my own life. Looking forward to interacting with you in conversation out on the forum!

3 Likes
(Melvin Greene) #5