Music and making one well

Hello all. I am looking for edification on the context of 1 Samuel 16:16, particularly the word [well] and its meaning. As a musician myself, having played alongside hospice patients, I’ve found the benefits of soothing music far exceed the “happy clappy” variety that Ravi has described.

Thank You
Homer Jerry Heffington
2 Co.1:3-5

1 Like

Hebrew: טוב
Transliteration: ţôb
Pronunciation: tobe
Definition: A primitive {root} to be (transitively do or make ) good (or well ) in the widest sense: - be (do) {better} {cheer} be ({do} seem) {good} ({make}) {goodly} X {please} ({be} {do} {go} play) well.
KJV Usage: …well (10x), good (9x), please (6x), goodly (2x), better (2x), cheer (1x), comely (1x), do (1x), pleased (with H5869) (1x).
Occurs: 33
In verses: 33
Strongs definition.
Saul did not need exciting music his spirit was already troubled. I am not a musician but all genres have intense aspects. In context Saul needed soothing, calming. Peaceful music to relax not excite.

1 Like

So good to hear you again Homer are you enjoying this forum?
Mike

Hello Mike and yes, I enjoy the diversity with one common element, that being liberty in Christ. The walls of anti-intellectualism are crumbling, thanks to solid apologetics, bearing each other up in authenticating God’s word through practical applications. This forum connects head to heart.

Oddly enough to a secularist, but not so odd to me, the message at church today was from John 5:1-6 which continued my edification. In verse 6 the question was posed by Christ to the lame man… Do you want to be made well? (NASB)

Knowledge is coming upon me through various channels, both through reading and wise counsel.

1 Like

Most modern translations use the word well but KJV used the word whole
Greek: ὑγιής
Transliteration: hugiēs
Pronunciation: hoog-ee-ace’
Definition: From the base of G837 ; healthy that is well (in body); figuratively true (in doctrine): - sound whole.
KJV Usage: whole (13x), sound (1x).