Need help with a Bible Objection

Hey guys, I came across this objection to the Bible,

“The Bible doesn’t prove God exists anymore than a comic book proves Spider-Man exists”

How do you respond to this claim?

5 Likes

Hello Andrew, I’m no expert but I’d love to offer some of my thoughts.

To start, I can say the same about every work of literature on any topic. A book on gravity doesn’t prove gravity exists. A book on light doesn’t prove light exists. An God forbid I should die tomorrow, my eulogy won’t be proof I existed. But at the same time it doesn’t prove non-existence either.

The real issues to face are:

1. what does the book assert?
  2. is the assertion true?

If the assertion is true, the book is then a valid resource in guiding ones belief. The assertions of the bible can be proven. A comic? Not likely, unless based on a true story.

Hopefully that helps!

8 Likes

It’s a good start

1 Like

It’s not the bible alone that proves God it’s logic, math, science, philosophy, etc. All these things together give the high probability that God exists. The order that it would go is that all the other things would give that God existing is the most probable and then you have to ask if there is a God did he make himself known. If he did then you search which faith seems to be the most consistent with reality. By far its the Christian faith.

The New Testament is made up of accounts of Jesus Christ who claimed to be God. The way he proved his claim was by rising from the dead. By studying the resurrection there is no better probable explanation that is consistent with what happened in history aside from the resurrection. If that happened then yes God made himself known to us and it was Jesus. But this does not mean the person will accept this or even do the research. So just be aware of that. Some people just want to dismiss the collective evidence.

Here are some things you can look up if you want.

God Bless :slight_smile:

6 Likes