Noah’s flood 50,000 years ago ?!?!? Help

Many progressive creationists put Noah’s flood at 50,000 years ago. I don’t know if this is tenable considering how the context of history given to Noah’s sons includes the Canaanites and other groups that are dated to about 3,000 years ago, and Nineveh is said to have been built only a few thousand years ago, not 50,000 years ago. But Noah’s flood was said to wipe out all humanity. Now if it happened only 6,000 years ago, how could we have our current population ?!?! This is honestly driving me crazy trying to figure out. Any thoughts or considerations would be much appreciated! Also, for progressive creationists, how do you stretch out the genealogy from 100,000 years ago ( Adam’s creation for progressive creationists , give or take ) all the way to Abraham merely a few thousand years ago ? I have hope that there are answers to these questions.

3 Likes

I’m no historical scientist, but I think what they do is judge the age of a historical event by observing current conditions. But the very existence of such a flood would so warp observations as to make aging impossible

I noticed that you’ve asked a number of similar questions - are you able to share a little of why this is bothering you so much?

I cannot answer the part of your question from a progressive creationist point of view as I have not studied it and will be interested in hearing others input. A good resource for this view is, Hugh Ross, and the team from Reason to Believe has many articles and a good search tool on the site. www.reasons.org

Creation.com (young earth creationism) has an article that works through a possible population growth model since the flood for part of your question.
https://creation.com/biblical-human-population-growth-model
the other main resource for a young earth creationist viewpoint is answersingenesis.org