Observing OT/Jewish Law

Hello!
I’m currently studying through the Old Testament. I’m curious to hear some thoughts on verses such as Exodus 12:24, when referencing the passover: “Remember, these instructions are a permanent law that you and your descendants must observe forever." I understand that Jesus brought a New Covenant, but how does the New Covenant negate/cancel OT verses such as this one?
I have friends who are Messianic Jews. They strictly observe these types of commands, even to the point of removing any traces of yeast from their home during this time. I struggle to understand how a focus on these types of things truly encourage us to focus on the New Covenant and the fulfillment of the law that Jesus brought. But then again, how do verses, such as the one mentioned above, play into all this? I hope my question is clear. :slight_smile:

Blessings to each one,
Julia Whitt

4 Likes

Hello Julia,
I’ll try to tell you what I think about this as much as possible :smiley:
All the Old testament’s prophecies and commandments lead us to Jesus. once he came he fulfilled every prophecy in him.
The passover especially is a prophecy for the Crucifixion, the strict rules how to choose the passover lamb, how they mustn’t break a bone (as jesus died without having a broken bone) and many other rules ofcourse all are verified in Jesus so he completed the prophecy and there is no point to continue offer a passover lamb, since the perfect lamb (Jesus) has finally come and held all our sins and died once and for all.
So after all the OT is actually verified not cancelled. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Good question, @juliawhitt87. And @Mary-Gayed is right about Jesus being our permanent Passover that never needs to be offered again - see I Corinthians 5:7.