Philippians 4:15-16

(Tim Ramey) #1

@Bible_Memorization_Group

Visiting our daughter out in California, I asked my 8 year old granddaughter about the Bible verses that she has in a ribbon across the bed that she was giving up for us. She said that she liked to post her favorite verses that she learned. I was so impressed and blessed and I let her know it. But scratching her head, she scowled as she lamented that she forgets them so fast. I encouraged to keep reciting the old ones while she learned new ones

It reminded me of us and the trying feat to not only memorize 2 verses/week but maintaining the ones that we learned weeks ago, I believe to keep up is so much easier than to just focus on the new verses and then let the others slide. My opinion maintains that we don’f have just so much space in our brains and when it fills up, it runs out. Rather, as scripture becomes second nature, it doesn’t take up brain space. I’m no expert but I believe what we are learning is life-changing and eternal.

I am heartened by the fact that having scripture become what we recite to ourselves anywhere on any day or night, means so much to 22 of us. How I yearn for a miraculous conference where we come together, meet each other and learn from each other what the verses have meant to us and how we have maintained them. You are precious brothers and sisters from all over the world. Let’s learn from each other, pray for one another and rejoice that we can do this together, It was not so long ago that such a fellowship was inconceivable,

I have grown to have a new found appreciation for the verses that we have before us this week as they illustrate the admonitions Paul wrote of throughout Philippians.

Philippians 4:15 Moreover, as you Philippians know, in the early days of your acquaintance with the gospel, when I set out from Macedonia, not one church shared with me in the matter of giving and receiving, except you only;