Please Place Your Name Here Cheryl

Hello, my name is Cheryl. I am a newly retired Software Developer

Where are you from? I am from Alabama, USA

What led you to join Connect? I am struggling to follow Jesus’ teaching to love others in the midst of the chaos and division that is raging in my country.

How do you hope to participate? Listen, learn, and ask questions

2 Likes

Welcome, Cheryl!

I have a good friend who moved to Jasper, AL several years ago. Went for a visit last year and met such wonderful people in Alabama.

The events and the issues that we are all facing these days are powerful, require a lot of thought, and more patience and love than sometimes we ourselves possess. But we can’t keep turning away from what is hard to process. The Good News is that we do have a resource for everything we need to consider and respond to these challenges. God, when we seek His help, will provide all the resources we need!

Connect is one good means of accessing those resources. This is a good place to ask questions and to hear how others, like yourself, are also struggling to follow Jesus in the midst of the chaos of life. A good place to slow down and really think about the problem and how God calls us to respond to the problems in light of Christ’s example and teaching and life.

Know this, let each person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger; for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God. Therefore put away all filthiness and rampant wickedness and receive with meekness the implanted work, which is able to save your souls. James 1:19-21

When I’m struggling myself, the Lord frequently brings this verse to mind when I’m feeling especially low on resources in responding to a situation. Always grateful to be reminded that I have resources in Him I can tap into.

My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever. Psalm 73:26 (whole Psalm is worth a quick read)