Protecting the innocent

what method of protection is acceptable in defending your home, and family (children and senior parents) present from violence

1 Like

First let me say that I am not a security expert, but I am a husband and a father so I do have interest and responsibility in protecting loved ones. I am also a hunter and shooter so I am familiar with the deadliness of firearms.

My son is a deputy with the sheriff’s department and tells me about criminals and their behavior. Recently I was able to tour the sheriff’s training facility and take part in some firearm use training. All of my peers ended up shot in the training simulation. I survived, but in one simulation I shot a bystander while shooting a criminal. You just don’t have any time to react in some of the simulations. It is pretty scary. Cops have an almost impossible job.

I think the first thing is situational awareness. Stay away from dangerous areas. Especially be careful at night. Criminal activity is greater in the dark.

The second is to just being alert. Pay attention to what is going on around you. Stop texting and talking on the phone.

Third is to have an escape plan. Be aware of where you and your loved ones can go to be safe. Have that in your mind.

When at home think of the above as well.

Remember your home and contents can be replaced. Buy insurance to avoid a catastrophic loss.

Design your security at home mainly to protect you from violence and discourage criminals.

Know your neighbors and keep an eye on them and share information. Set up a perimeter of your home to discourage criminals. Lock your doors. Install a burglar alarm connected to police. Install cameras and put a sign in front of your home saying that your home is protected by a monitored alarm system.

With the above system in place I have never had theft or violence at my home.