Question on Moral Law Giver Argument

I have a question that I have a few thoughts on, but wanted to get the take of others on here as well.

How can we apply the moral law giver argument to not just a philosophy like post modernism, but also some of the early modern philosophies like those of Descartes? I think specifically of his evil genius theory (if you aren’t familiar with that theory, it basically raises the same questions the movie The Matrix raises in the 21st century) Even if the reality of the moral law is accepted- How do we know that the one who gives it must necessarily follow it? To apply this directly to Christianity- This is a link that seems crucial to make, in order to be able to assert God does not and can not lie, and therefore we can trust what he has communicated to us through the Bible.

4 Likes

I am not a philosophy expert but if I boil your question down do you mean 'do as I say not as I do’?
I ask because in the Matrix I have always understood the movie to be about the truth as represented by the red pill the blue pill is representative of a world that is defined by relativism, what ever you want to believe.

Looking forward to your thoughts.

1 Like

Hi Scott,