Question on salvation, Noah Fincher

(Noah Fincher) #1

Hi everyone,
I am a student looking to get some troubling questions answered and faith, and salvation, and creationism. Hopefully I will spell everything right.

The reason I created this page was to get one major question answered.
Right now I attend a catholic high school and often debate with my religion teacher about the bible, because I am a protestant and disagree with him. Right now we are talking about salvation. As of my understanding, a person is saved by accepting the Lord Jesus Christ as their savior and putting their trust in him. My teacher says that he does agree with me, but he takes it to another level. He says that because God is love, and because we are called to love in the world, when we do love we are intrinsically accepting God and his grace, forgiveness and mercy. This allows for people outside the Christian faith to be saved by God because by the person loving, they are accepting Christ, even if they are Muslim, Hindu, or atheist. Does this make sense logically or theologically.

Thank you,
God Bless

(SeanO) #2

@NoahFincher Noah, thanks so much for asking that great question. May the Lord grant you wisdom in your class as you study. I’m not sure it would be helpful to directly engage your teacher on this issue again unless it comes up in class or you feel led to do so.

Your teacher has mixed together two questions:

• how are we saved?
  • how will God judge those who have not heard of Christ?

Your teacher appears to be attempting to answer the second question by distorting what the Bible says about the first question, though I may be misunderstanding what he is saying. The Bible is clear that it is only through Christ that we are saved. And yet we also trust that God will do what is just when He judges - for He knows men’s hearts and has proven that He loves us by sending His Son.